Thea Condos
- Promoter
- Jaday Estetica, S.A. de C.V. — identified as the MIA promovente in SEMARNAT's Gaceta Ecológica (expediente 23QR2025TD060); confirm it is also the entity signing sale contracts
- Location
- Puerto Morelos Centro, C.P. 77580, Puerto Morelos, Quintana Roo, Mexico (per converging broker listings; no street address, lot number, or coordinates published anywhere)
- Overall status
- Status unknown
- Prepared by
- Independent buyer advisory — methodology
- Last verified
- August 30, 2026
- Revision
- v1.1
Registry probes of August 30, 2026 changed this dossier materially: the promoter is now identified as Jaday Estetica, S.A. de C.V. via the project's own federal MIA filing (October 2025), which also confirms the marketed 12-unit specs. A SEMARNAT resolution was issued April 6, 2026 — but its outcome is not stated in the public Gaceta, so environmental authorization remains unproven. The payment plans still expose up to 80% of the price before delivery with no disclosed escrow, no PROFECO-registered contract exists under the Thea name, and advertised delivery dates contradict each other.
Assessment
Insufficient verification. Critical matters remain undetermined. Confirm each at its official source before proceeding.
This assessment rests on the numbered findings below.
Recommended action
- Identify the developer's legal entity named in your contract; if the seller cannot or will not name it, treat that as a serious warning and consult an independent attorney now.
- Demand the SEMARNAT MIA number and the municipal construction-license number, and verify both at their official sources (SINAT; Puerto Morelos Desarrollo Urbano).
- Demand written clarification of the delivery date — the advertised dates contradict each other and none survived verification.
- Make no further payments outside an independent, regulated escrow — the marketed plans put up to 80% of the price at risk before delivery with no disclosed protection.
- Once you have the folio real, order your own lien certificate and confirm the condominium regime is recorded; if the project was misrepresented to you, file a complaint with PROFECO.
Docket watch — free
Get an email when this dossier is revised — new court, registry, or enforcement developments. No marketing, unsubscribe any time.
This is a preliminary entry — key checks remain open. Commissioning the full dossier funds direct registry verification for this development. Request the full dossier
Findings
01 · Environmental authorizationCritical
Caution
Does the project hold a valid, current federal environmental authorization for its actual location and scope?
A federal environmental filing for Thea Condos EXISTS: SEMARNAT's Gaceta Ecológica records a MIA-Particular filed October 27, 2025 (expediente 23QR2025TD060) by promovente JADAY ESTETICA, S.A. de C.V., describing exactly the marketed project (a ground-floor-plus-5-levels building, 12 apartments, 267 m² lot, Puerto Morelos). A resolution was issued April 6, 2026 — but the Gaceta does NOT state whether it authorized or denied the project, and its validity column reads “NO APLICA” where authorized neighbors carry terms, which often accompanies non-authorization. Do not treat the project as environmentally authorized until you obtain the resolutivo itself and confirm its sense (searched and confirmed August 30, 2026).
Basis — ▪ Verified against official source · SEMARNAT Gaceta Ecológica DGIRA/0049/25 — Thea Condos MIA filed 27-Oct-2025 (expediente 23QR2025TD060, promovente Jaday Estetica SA de CV) · SEMARNAT Gaceta Ecológica DGIRA/0023/26 — resolution issued 06-Apr-2026 on the Thea Condos MIA (outcome not stated in the Gaceta)
Verify at — SINAT — SEMARNAT environmental procedure system (MIA lookup)
How to verify this yourself
- Ask for the federal environmental impact authorization folio (in Mexico, a SEMARNAT MIA resolutivo).
- Look the folio up yourself in the federal environmental authority's public records.
- Confirm it is favorable, current, and matches the project's coordinates and size.
02 · Building permit & zoningCritical
Not determined
Is there a valid, current building permit that matches the height, density, and unit count actually being sold?
No municipal construction license for Thea Condos could be confirmed, and the municipality publishes no searchable license registry — its site search returned an explicit empty result for “thea” on August 30, 2026 (a positive control query returned results, so the empty result is meaningful, but this remains a weak negative). One verified dated negative: the project does not appear on Quintana Roo's live SEDETUS registry of irregular developments (full dataset retrieved August 30, 2026). Ask the seller for the licencia de construcción number and confirm it with the Dirección de Desarrollo Urbano of Puerto Morelos.
Basis — — Could not be independently verified · SEDETUS — Registro Estatal de Desarrollos Inmobiliarios Irregulares (Aug 30, 2026 — Thea Condos not listed) · Municipio de Puerto Morelos — site search, Aug 30, 2026 (empty result for 'thea'; positive control passed)
Verify at — SEDETUS Quintana Roo — urban development programs & irregular-developments bulletin
How to verify this yourself
- Request the building-permit number and the zoning limits for the lot from the municipality.
- Confirm at the municipality that the permit is active and authorizes the number of levels/units shown in the renders.
- Compare the approved height/density to the marketing materials for any gap.
03 · Litigation & closuresCritical
Not determined
Are there any active lawsuits, injunctions, or government closures against the project, the land, or the developer?
No court case, closure, or sanction naming Thea Condos or Jaday Estetica was found — and a dated probe (August 30, 2026) documented that the federal docket portals cannot be publicly searched by party name (PJF services require e.firma credentials; SISE sits behind a login wall), so absence of a docket cannot be claimed. The municipal press site's search returned nothing for the project (with a passing positive control). Area context only: municipal and environmental authorities closed unnamed irregular developments in the Puerto Morelos area in 2025. Have a lawyer run a credentialed docket search under Jaday Estetica, S.A. de C.V.
Basis — — Could not be independently verified · Municipio de Puerto Morelos — closures of unnamed irregular developments (area context only)
Verify at — Federal Judiciary — PJF online services
How to verify this yourself
- Have an attorney search the courts by the project name, land, and developer/entity name.
- Ask the environmental and consumer regulators whether any closure or sanction is on file.
- Visit or have someone photograph the site to check for closure/suspension seals.
04 · Title & liensCritical
Not determined
Does the seller hold clear, registered title, free of mortgages, liens, or encumbrances?
Nothing could be confirmed about the land title, liens, or the condominium regime: no listing publishes a street address, lot number, folio real, or owner of record, and the Registro Publico de la Propiedad of Quintana Roo was not accessed. Before signing anything, have a Mexican notary public (notario) pull the folio real and a certificado de libertad de gravamen for the exact lot, and confirm whether a regimen de propiedad en condominio has been constituted and recorded for the 12 marketed units.
Basis — — Could not be independently verified · Su Casa Cancun listing — no address, lot, title, or notary information published
How to verify this yourself
- Get the property's registry folio and order your OWN lien-free certificate from the public registry — do not rely on the seller's copy.
- Have a notary/attorney confirm the titleholder matches the party signing your contract.
05 · Ownership structureImportant
Caution
If you are a foreign buyer, is the ownership structure lawful and fully in your name (e.g., a proper bank trust with its permit)?
The previously unidentifiable developer now has a name from a primary federal source: the Thea Condos MIA was filed by JADAY ESTETICA, S.A. de C.V. (SEMARNAT Gaceta Ecológica, expediente 23QR2025TD060). What remains unconfirmed is whether that same entity signs the sale contracts; its corporate registry data sits behind SIGER's login/payment wall (probed August 30, 2026, portal also intermittently down). Confirm the exact entity in your contract matches the MIA promovente, have counsel pull its commerce-registry certificate, and — if you are a foreign buyer — confirm a proper bank trust (fideicomiso) and its SRE permit.
Basis — ▪ Verified against official source · SEMARNAT Gaceta Ecológica DGIRA/0049/25 — Thea Condos MIA filed 27-Oct-2025 (expediente 23QR2025TD060, promovente Jaday Estetica SA de CV)
Verify at — Secretaría de Economía — SIGER / commerce registry
How to verify this yourself
- Ask which bank will act as trustee and request the trust contract and its government permit.
- Have an independent attorney review the trust's fees, term, and your rights before signing.
06 · Payments & escrowCritical
Caution
Are your funds held by an independent, regulated escrow agent and released only on independently verified milestones?
The marketed payment plans put 80% of the price at risk before delivery: the standard plan is 30% down + 50% during construction + 20% at delivery, and a promoted alternative offers a 6% discount for paying 80% up front on a preconstruction unit. Two independent listings confirm these terms, and neither mentions any escrow account, fideicomiso/trust, notary, or guarantee protecting the staged payments. This does not prove no protection exists, but none is disclosed, and the promoter who would receive the money is unidentified. Do not stage payments without a written, verifiable protection mechanism.
Basis — ◪ Corroborated by reporting — confirm primary record · Su Casa Cancun listing — 30/50/20 plan and 80%-upfront plan with 6% discount; no escrow or trust mentioned · Zisla listing — three payment plans (30/50/80 at signing) with no escrow, trust, or fideicomiso mentioned
Verify at — PROFECO RPCA — public registry of adhesion contracts (check if the sale contract is registered)
How to verify this yourself
- Ask who holds the funds; confirm they are an independent, regulated escrow/title company (not the developer).
- Read the escrow agreement and confirm each release requires independent certification of the milestone.
07 · Contract & consumer rightsImportant
Caution
Is the purchase contract in writing, independently reviewed, with clear refund and cancellation terms?
Dated registry probes (August 30, 2026): PROFECO's adhesion-contract registry (RPCA) contains NO contract under “Thea”/“Thea Condos” in either its active (63,699-record) or historic (61,567-record) datasets — verified with positive control queries after the portal's global search proved non-functional — and the Buró Comercial shows no complaint record under those names (substring hits like ARTHEA and ALTHEA are different entities). Coverage gap now closable: the promoter was identified afterwards as Jaday Estetica, S.A. de C.V., so a follow-up search under that name is pending. Meaning: any pre-sale contract offered under the Thea name would be an adhesion contract UNREGISTERED with PROFECO — ask the seller to show a registration in the promoter's own name.
Basis — ▪ Verified against official source · PROFECO RPCA — active + historic dataset search, Aug 30, 2026 (no Thea record; controls passed) · PROFECO Buró Comercial — provider search, Aug 30, 2026 (no Thea record)
Verify at — PROFECO — adhesion contract registry (RPCA)
How to verify this yourself
- Ask whether the contract is registered with the consumer-protection authority and for its registration number.
- Have an independent attorney read it in full before you pay anything; confirm the refund/rescission clause.
08 · Marketing vs. realityAdvisory
Caution
Do the renders, brochures, and active listings match what is actually approved and lawful to sell right now?
The marketed basics are now corroborated by a primary federal record: the MIA filing describes exactly what the listings sell — one building, ground floor plus 5 levels, 12 apartments (7 one-bedroom, 5 two-bedroom), on a 267.055 m² lot in Puerto Morelos. What remains adverse: the advertised delivery dates contradict each other across listings (June 2026 / Summer 2026 / December 2027 — none survived verification), no listing publishes a street address or price transparency, and the environmental resolution's outcome is unstated. Treat schedule and authorization claims as unproven until documented.
Basis — ▪ Verified against official source · SEMARNAT Gaceta Ecológica DGIRA/0049/25 — Thea Condos MIA filed 27-Oct-2025 (expediente 23QR2025TD060, promovente Jaday Estetica SA de CV)
Verify at — SINAT — SEMARNAT environmental procedure system (MIA lookup)
How to verify this yourself
- Compare marketing claims (floors, amenities, delivery dates) against the approved permit and environmental authorization.
- Check whether the project is still being actively sold despite any suspension.
Authorities & sources
Notice
Produced by the portal's research pipeline in August 2026 and reviewed editorially before publication. Revision v1.1 reflects direct registry probes of August 30, 2026: SEMARNAT's Gaceta Ecológica (full-text search of 2024–2026 issues — which located the project's MIA and its promoter), PROFECO RPCA (active + historic datasets) and Buró Comercial, the SEDETUS irregular-developments registry, and the municipal site were queried directly; PJF/SISE dockets, the Periódico Oficial, and SIGER were inaccessible to public queries on that date. A follow-up PROFECO search under the newly identified promoter name is pending. Verify every item at its official source and consult your own attorney; factual information for buyer protection, not a legal opinion or accusation.